FLAG - Editorial Board Editorial Board

Eileen Lewis, Editor

Patricia Cross

Dorothy Gabel

Terry Millar

Gloria Rogers

Elaine Seymour

Eileen Lewis, Professor of Chemistry, Cañada College (California). Her background and research is in Chemistry and Cognition. Research interests include conceptual change in students' understanding of science, longitudinal changes in science understanding, curricular designs that support knowledge integration, and conceptual frameworks and chemistry problem-solving. On leave from Cañada College, she is a lecturer in the Chemistry Department at the University of California, Berkeley and is the Project Director for the ModularCHEM Consortium focused on undergraduate chemistry systemic reform efforts. She is also a NISE Fellow on the FLAG (Field Tested Learning Assessment Guide) team.
More on Eileen Lewis...
email: eileen@socrates.berkeley.edu

K. Patricia Cross is Professor of Higher Education, Emerita at the University of California at Berkeley. Cross has had a distinguished career as a university administrator (Assistant Dean of Women, University of Illinois and Dean of Students at Cornell University), researcher (Distinguished Research Scientist at Educational Testing Service and Research Educator at The Center for Research and Development in Higher Education, University of California, Berkeley), and teacher (Professor and Chair of the Department of Administration, Planning, and Social Policy at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and Professor of Higher Education, University of California, Berkeley).
More on Pat Cross...
email: patcross@socrates.berkeley.edu

Dorothy Gabel is a Professor of Science Education at Indiana University. She is a past-president of the National Association for Research in Science Teaching, the School Science and Mathematics Association, and the Hoosier Association of Science Teachers. She was a Director of Teacher Preparation at NSF in 1987-and 88. In addition to her many research publications, she is the author of several chemistry books, the ChemSource Video series, and was the editor of the Handbook of Research in Science Teaching and Learning. In 1999, Professor Gabel was the recipient of the NSTA Carleton Award for National Leadership in Science Education.
More on Dorothy Gabel...
email: gabel@indiana.edu

Terry Millar Terrence S. Millar is team leader of the NISE's Graduate Science, Mathematics, Engineering, and Technology Education Team. He has been on the mathematics faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison since 1976, is the associate dean for the Physical Sciences of the Graduate School, and served as NISE interim co-director from September 1996 to July 1998. Millar organized the NISE Graduate Education Forum, which was held in Washington, DC, on June 29-30, 1998.
More on Terry Millar...
email: millar@math.wisc.edu

Gloria Rogers is currently the Vice President for Institutional Resources and Assessment at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology. In addition to her duties at Rose-Hulman, she has been active presenting seminars on the development and implementation of assessment plans to improve educational programs. She serves as a review panel member for the National Science Foundation and is an external evaluator for some major science, math, engineering, and technology curricula initiatives. She is the co-author of, "Stepping Ahead: An Assessment Plan Development Guide" which has been distributed to over 8000 faculty members throughout the country. She serves as a consultant to the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology on the implementation of the new outcomes-based accreditation criteria and serves as a consultant-evaluator for the North Central Association.
More on Gloria Rogers...
email: gloria.rogers@rose-hulman.edu

Elaine Seymour is the Director of Ethnography and Evaluation Research for the Bureau of Sociological Research at the University of Colorado. The work of her unit is centered on aspects of change in the education and career paths of undergraduate and graduate science, mathematics, and engineering (SME) majors. She helped to develop The Ethnograph, a computer program widely used in qualitative research. She is currently the co-Evaluator for two NSF consortia for the reform of undergraduate chemistry (shared with Joshua Gutwill, the University of California, Berkeley) focusing on processes of change among students, faculty, and departments. This has led to some cross-initiative work, including origination (with Steve Koscuik) of NISE's FLAG web-site, and the Student Assessment of their Learning Gains (SALG) instrument for student-faculty classroom feedback (available via the FLAG).  
More on Elaine Seymour...
email: seymour@spot.colorado.edu